SSS League


The Scottish Student Sport Curling League (previously the Scottish Universities League and the Scottish Universities Sport Curling League) is the premier competition within university curling in Scotland. It is contested by a number of teams from across Scotland's universities, with Edinburgh, Dundee, Heriot-Watt, Strathclyde, Glasgow and Aberdeen and normally entering at least one team (though the competition is open to any university team). The format varies, depending on the number of entrants; in season 2016 - 2017, the format is that of a simple, all-play-all, league. This past 2 years we have represented the university with 2 teams in the league and Edinburgh 1 was placed second for the season 2015-2016.

When and Where?

Previously, games were played at rinks throughout Scotland. When Scottish Universities Sport and the Royal Caledonian Curling Club became involved with the competition in season 2009 - 2010, the decision was taken to centralise the majority of games. All games (except local derbies such as Edinburgh v Heriot Watt) are now played at the Dewars Centre in Perth on Wednesdays throughout the academic year.


The club has 2 teams playing in the league this year. Edinburgh 1 is a fixed team with our 4 best players. For Edinburgh 2 the players can vary depending on availability and merit. The players are chosen by the President and Vice-president at the start of the year.


With several trips to Perth and competition fees to consider, the league is expensive for the club to enter. While we subsidise the vast majority of the costs, we ask for a contribution of 5 per game played from each player.

Previous Success

The last time Edinburgh University won the competition was in the 2007 - 2008 season. That year, two Edinburgh teams each qualified from their groups for the semi-final, which they played against each other. The first team emerged victorious and later defeated Aberdeen University in the competitions final. The team was composed of Jamie Dick, Martin Doak, Emma Garland and Ben Thomas.